Overjoyed

Overjoyed of Stevie Wonder is probably one of the greatest songs ever made. It was a Motown hit in 1985 but has continued its popularity over the decades. I can listen to it repeatedly the whole day. Who will not fall in love with the voice, tune, and lyrics of this masterpiece?

The entire context of the song also fascinates me—how it captures the emotion of loving and losing at the same time. There is a story happening in my head each time I listen to it, real or not, I’m not sure. Maybe one of these days I will write about it.

Yes, Overjoyed is such a hopeless romantic.  And many of us are truly (and still) a hopeless romantic at one point, aren’t we? Love that should have happened but never did is always an interesting twist to talk about. I know many friends who can relate here completely.

Enjoy the music, and oh, the video too (the original music video is not so pretty but this one is nice to watch).

PS

Now that there are a lot of foreign artists coming to the Philippines, I am so hoping to have Stevie Wonder perform to us live. And if there is such an event, it will surely knock me off my feet!

3 thoughts on “Overjoyed

  1. i love that song!!! hmmm… it’s was our national anthem, remember? 🙂 it makes me fall in love over and over again when i listen to this song. 🙂

  2. Love this song too!

Leave a Reply

