The I-Me-and-Myself Syndrome

It is always fun to hear the many stories of friends (even acquaintance); I love the interactions and the thrill of having a conversation (define as “the spoken exchange of thoughts, opinions, and feelings”*).

But I have encountered people that can turn this conversation into a monologue, and I become a mere audience with no right to talk. They have what I call the I-Me-and-Myself Syndrome.

I have listed the symptoms according to the general manifestation of the patient, oh I mean, the person bearing the syndrome.

Unstoppable talking – She prefers to be the only person to spill a saliva. It is like I have a nameplate written with “avid listener only” and she has the “sole speaker” tag.

Each time I try to speak, this next sign may be experienced.

Wandering eyeballs –  So there, finally! I had the chance to narrate stuff about my life but not really… she started looking at the person who just walked in the café, and paid more attention reading her text messages; she suddenly looked bored and not interested. I wished to grab her eyeballs and make it focused on me!

Selective listening – She must be listening… actually, she really did… only to my follow-up questions or clarifications to her unending speech. She mentioned the name of every person in her encounter as if they are my friends too! I did not know and never met any of them.  In my mind, who in the world are they and was she supposed to edit unnecessary details?

Extreme forgetfulness – I thought she understood the plot of my story just to find out that she did not remember a thing! How did I discover? I asked back the same topic in a different phrase and she appeared clueless.

Hearing deficiency – She can only hear herself and no one else. In fairness, she attempted to inquire things about me, but her effort remained just a passing inquiry. When I started to reply, she cut me and proceeded with her soliloquy. This could be her thought: what matters are the events about myself, me, and I.

I love listening but I am also a firm believer of a good communication; I remember teaching this in my class years ago. To communicate effectively, it must be a two-way process.

And isn’t wonderful to know that you are spending time with someone who is actually concern about you and not too engrossed with herself? When it gets too much I just like to say, hey I am not a psychiatrist and you are not on a psychiatric couch. If she is my friend, I tell her the problem directly (and harshly if necessary, so she can stop blocking the message) but if not, I just try to avoid her company. What else can be done if the person is not willing to listen anyway?


Reference:
* http://www.answers.com/topic/conversation

2 thoughts on “The I-Me-and-Myself Syndrome

  1. […] Are you starting to feel consistently unhappy about this person having an I-Me-and-Myself Syndrome? The world revolves around him and no else is more important in the universe but […]

  2. I know a lot of people who are so obsessed with themselves and i would rathee be alone than be with them! Ha!

Leave a Reply

