Battling My Way Against Rudeness

I’m sure you encounter a situation where people give rude remarks than the appropriate polite greetings.

In a gathering, for example, after not seeing these people for some time, the initial hello I received right after giving birth was, “You are so fat!” Not how are you, not how’s the baby, not how’s your family!

Not everybody knew I had a miscarriage, so after a few months of being married with no bulging tummy, an acquaintance (mind you, just an acquaintance!) greeted, “You are not yet pregnant? Maybe you are barren!”

How cruel!

It took almost 10 years before hubby and I tied the knot, so during the mid and later parts of our relationship, others were forcing (yes, forcing is the term) us to marry while giving inappropriate reasons to wed. They said I was getting old (at 24!), we might get tired of each other, we were together for so long, blah, blah, blah!

Some of my close friends are experiencing the same thing.  They are single in their late 20s and their relatives are already calling them old maids. Because of this, they prefer to be anti-social and would rather stay home than attend a reunion to avoid being pissed.

Back in childhood, our teachers have thought us of good manners and this behavior is obviously not good at all; may it be just a joke, or an effort to break the tension, or a severely honest comment, or they sincerely don’t mean it. Thinking twice before speaking and being self-conscious before throwing harsh words are still fair conducts we need to live by. (I mean, some of those calling me fat are actually fatter than I am! There was an instance when I answered back for the fact that I could not control my temper and saying, you want to look in the mirror?)

We all know that being affected is not worth it and is just a waste of energy, but it can be truly annoying at times! Even Albus Dumbledore has a piece of advice when dealing with these kinds of people, “–yet, sadly, accidental rudeness occurs alarmingly often. Best to say nothing at all, my dear man.”

Best to say nothing at all.

2 thoughts on “Battling My Way Against Rudeness

  1. Hahaha! You said it! 🙂 This is a sad reality that happens all too often. I remembered what happened to my sister who is a bit on the chubby side during a family reunion: an great-aunt of ours upon seeing her (for the first time, mind you) said “O, anong nangyari sa ‘yo?!” (“Oh, what happened to you?!”) My sister wanted to retort “Gee, thanks!” but decided to hide her irritation by smiling politely then moving away from her. How rude indeed! Sigh.

  2. So true! Wish people are more sensitive, i got the same comment after giving birth and still fighting post partum depression!

Leave a Reply

